A Ride Through The Western Ghats

I have been to the places in western ghats more than 5 times. My very first time, I still remember sitting in the front seat of the car beside the driver while on a pilgrimage from Hornadu to Dharmasthala and to Udupi. I still remember the lush greenery on the sides of the roads and the fog kissing the roads, making it very hard to see what’s coming up on the road. I still remember those meandering roads on which our driver showed his brilliance in steering the vehicle at great speeds. Somewhere the western ghats etched a memory of a life time experience on my mind, which my heart wanted again and again.
Once I have been to Kudremukh with a sole purpose of trekking the Kuduramukha. I have been to Wayanad, for exploring the cuisine and to see how the western ghats fare, down south. Both the times, I was flabbergasted by the amount of beauty it captures and how it captivated me. After these two trips, I was sure I had to come back again. But I knew I had to come back on a cruiser. I was just waiting for the right time, but then again there’s no right time for travelling except that your mind and heart yell for it when it is much needed. I fixed the Jan-26th long weekend and booked tickets to Bangalore. I booked a Thunder-Bird for rent with Eezee Rentals in Mysore as they do not have Kilo-meter Cap. But in the last minute, I was told that Thunder Bird wasn’t available and I had to go for an Avenger 220.
img_20170128_151829_hdr

The Cruiser that travelled 1257 K.M.s with me

Breakfast in Bidadi was the plan and I had my share of Bisi (Hot) Thatte Idly and Maddoor wada in a local shack in Bidadi. The Thatte Idly was very soft and the spicy watery chutney was a great accompaniment. Maddoor wada was thin, crunchy, flavoured with chillies and other spices, which makes a great snack anytime. Once I was in Mysore, I went straight to the rental shop and gave my Id’s to get myself on the cruiser. The condition was great and ride was smooth. I went to nearby fuel station and got the full tank filled.
img_20170126_120816_20170126_162044_1

Thatte Idly and Maddoor wada in Bidadi

Now, my initial plan was to ride to Coorg and other places around. I wanted to explore the Kodagu cuisine and see different places in Coorg. But being a backpacker, my itinerary is quite pliable. So after exploring Coorg, I straight ahead went on a spree to experience the best of Western Ghats and thus headed to Munnar and was riding the whole time.
I covered Bylakuppe, Madikeri and surrounding places in Coorg and I tried exploring the Kodagu Cuisine. I went to Bandipur, Mudumalai and stayed in Muthanga on the 2nd night of my trip. I rode to GunduMalai of Munnar in Kerala on third day via Mannarkkad, Palakkad, Pollachi on 3rd day. On the 4th day, I got up in the morning and rode back to Chamrajnagar via Talamalai forest and covered Sri Rangapatna. I could have gone back to Bangalore via Coimbatore but I had to take a detour to Melukote near Mandya because of my love (Which turned into madness after my Kudremukh Visit) for Puliyogare.

One thought on “A Ride Through The Western Ghats

  1. Pingback: Kudremukh – Where my love for trekking sprung in | Forks On My Road

Leave a Reply

